Posted by: jeffra | January 12, 2010

Odds and Ends

I have many posts sort of written in my head, of course, they have accompanying pictures which are sitting in my camera, waiting to be loaded on the computer. So far, I have done really well at hauling the camera around to get all the shots I need, so I can blog, yet when it comes to the following through, I am falling short, very short, especially being 5’1″, HAHA! I could give many excuses, but alas, none of them really matter when my blog is so behind. Even my friends who have less help with their (numerous) kids, are on the ball more than I. All I can say is I am working on it. Let’s see if I can just touch on a few things….Christmas was awesome, it was quiet and messy and enjoyable! New Year’s we went over to our friend, Hector’s house to spend it with his family and 3 little boys, ages 5,3,2. I attended graduate school with Hector and we have remained good friends ever since. His wife is awesome, and puts up with my foul comments that I interject and throw in Hector’s face when he attempts to exert his verbal “ego”, err, I mean prowess. We had yummy pulled pork sandwiches and coleslaw and Mark made his family favorite, Cookie Salad, sans mandarin oranges (they just don’t belong), in my fine opinion! It was a wonderful time, we have been going to Hector’s for New Year’s Eve the past 3 of 4 years. It is a great time to catch up and have the kids play. McKenna thought it would be really cool to give the boys one of her yummy tongue kisses, and proceeded to chase them around the house, as they did NOT want a yummy tongue kiss. Of course, even at 16 months, this just spurred her on, following after them with her tongue wagging. I had visions of her tripping and biting it off…one day boys, you will be sad you missed out on this fine opportunity…Alas, we had a few drinks and listened to Hector attempt to secure a sound dowry for the marriage of McKenna and any one of his fine sons. Mark, Hector and McKenna thought it would only be fitting to ring in the New Year while playing the drums, and she was smiling ear to ear! I.AM.DOOMED! She was able to hold the sticks and make decent noise, which pleased her pops to no end. (Insert picture here, oh wait, that one is on my phone).

Mark and I took the week of New Year’s off to get some family time in and projects accomplished. We did this while McKenna insisted on getting another virus and subsequent ear infection. We started round two of antibiotics and she was on the mend while we went through the garage and attempted to de-clutter. Yes, de-clutter I said…what that really means is the adults get to get rid of their own treasures to accomodate the barage of presents, clothes, and baby items that have now littered our house from said child. We want to save these items for the next baby, let us just hope it is another girl! Speaking of which, this New Year brings the new prospect of trying  for baby #2, but not until August. We have it timed so hopefully my mom will be off from teaching and can help us. I have some time to try something I used to do in the distant past, exercise! I need to get some weight off before we do this again, to lower my risk of the gestational diabetes, and so it begins. We plan on getting a treadmill in the near future to help procure self preservation, in the form of the HATED E word. It needs to happen. So back to our vacay…garage is better, we got in some park time and rest and took baby girl to the snow for the 1st time…to my MN friends, I am sure they are giggling, or not…becuase they have been inundated with so much snow, the thought of their kids having never seen it is, well just, unlikely. Our friends invited us up to their family cabin between Shaver and Huntington Lakes. It was beautiful, about an 80 minute drive. We broke out all of our lately unused snowboarding wear and donned it as if we knew what we were doing…at least we looked good! Let’s just say I lasted about 15 minutes becuase McKenna lasted about 10. Good thing she lives in the valley in Cali, cuz that girl “ain’t feeling it”. Her snow loving daddy, stayed out for hours building snow ball fighting forts with the boys 7 and 9, which gave our friends a break and reminded me why I hate going to non-baby proofed houses! Mark broke a serious sweat out there and had a great time reminescing about his MN tundra roots. BLEH! No offense peeps, I just am Not the one! It was great to hang out with our friends in an alternate setting than Sweet Tomatoes Restaurant.

On another note, I know I have talked about donating my boat, I have pictures to share, on my camera! Maybe the next post will be ALL pics and you can reference this post to see the words! It is an old, tired boat…but goes fast and brought me much pride and fun while I had it those 6 years. It had become a low priority and fell into disrepair and became a cumbersome fixture on the back patio which could be used for better things, like McKenna riding on her most awesome weinermobile, she got for Christmas! She loves it but do you know how hard it is to push a long weiner through a hallway!??!! Yeah, you get the visual…it needs a backup noise! Our hope is we can move it out back in the spring. All in all, it was a good decision to donate the boat, just tugs on my heartstrings a bit, becuase my kids won’t get to experience the boating life that many of my childhood memories are wrapped around. I remind myself, my history doesn’t have to be my children’s and we will have different experiences and fond memories. It is for the best!

Lastly, I attended a very special lady’s baby shower yesterday in Los Angeles. Heather Spohr looked beautiful, radiant and entirely comfortable in her Very pregnant body! She makes pregnancy look awesome…it was a lovely sunny day, with beautiful decorations, tasty food and most importantly, many of her friends, including bloggers who attended to share in her joy! It was wonderful to see her revelling in the impending birth of her daughter with all she has been through this past year. I don’t think I would be far off the mark to say that Maddie was on the minds of everyone present, and by looking at several of her gifts, she will continue to play an ever present role in the life of binky! It was a wonderful day, did I mention my awesome husband entertained lil miss at various parks in town and sat in the car while she napped, so I could have big girl time!?! I am a lucky lady! I love you, Mark!

One more tidbit…I finally decided I could take on the challenge of starting allergy shots, you know where you take them for several years. My hope was that I could get off some of these asthma inhalers and limit any long term side effects. My Primary Care Physician referred me out and I met with Dr. A. Clearly he is an arrogant man who is NOT interested in working with his patients on a viable treatment plan…Do they not understand that their A) business is contingent on patient’s returning for ongoing care and B) must be willing to take the medication they are prescribing? He really didn’t seem to care that I am still breastfeeding, well pumping really, but that doesn’t change this issue… I asked if I could return to what worked for me in the past…Flovent and Serevent…I was willing to use the Flonase in my nose (reluctantly). He said “No, I want you to use this”. Mind you, this is all in an effort to get me “stable” enough to do the damn allergy testing to get to the point of starting shots. After checking with the pediatrician and getting his blessing, I started this Symbicort crap….hesitant that I would have the same issues as I did with Advair…THRUSH…in my throat, white, furry crap! Exciting, when you can pass it to your husband. But I gave it a shot…within 3 weeks, here we are, with thrush. So, I called the office..explained the situation to the “NURSE” who after going over my concerns said “ok, so you have THRUST” no that isn’t a typo..it was all I could do to not go sarcastic on her ass and say “Thrust, why don’t I thrust something into you”? instead I said “did you say thrust, I have THRUSH, do you know what that is”? She then said she would call back after speaking to the Dr. Awhile later, a different nurse returned my call..a different NURSE, mind you..and just starts rambling about something she was calling in and that Dr. said I need to “keep taking the Symbicort” while I also take an internal antifungal pill for 10 days…Why in the hell would I keep taking a medication that is giving a problem like Thrush which requires I take another med, an antifungal to combat it?!?! especially when I AM TELLING YOU THAT THERE IS SOMETHING ELSE THAT WORKS FOR ME?!? She wouldn’t even acknowledge my concerns and told me to make an appointment. WTF?! What I also know from going down this path is that it is better to use a mouth swish for fungus than an internal pill, it is harder on your system. Wonder if he considered that I am breastfeeding, not even on his radar…and truly, the fungus isn’t super bad, I can tell when it starts in the early stages and can eat yogurt and stop the inhaler and said FUNGUS dissipates on its own, which is what I did. He is SOOO fired…and my dreams of allergy shots, at this point are dreams. I will take it as a sign that this is not the right time. Clearly, having a long term relationship with this Dr. for shots is not going to happen! I can’t even get to the testing part! Thank God for my PCP, at least he will listens and prescribe what works…I have a feeling Dr. A is getting some kinda kick back for prescribing Symbicort, never mind patient care and what works for them! Onward and upward loves! Afterall, it is a New Year!

 

P.S. I promise to come back to this here, blog…soon…with pics!

Responses

  1. no, I can’t say I know what it’s like to push a long weiner through a hallway. ahhh …too many jokes there.

    McKenna is definitely my kinda girl …I, too, like to chase boys and try to tongue kiss them. Wait ..maybe that was just a dream 🙂 At any rate, I wanna be around when she turns 21.

  2. you write a lot.

    and thanks for selling the boat for the foundation.

    means a lot to us.

    but now you and mark can no longer sing this song:

  3. LOL @ McKenna! If it’s any consolation for you, I used to chase boys around in elementary school to try to kiss them, and I was a virgin ’till I was 20. 😉
    Other than the thrush and the quack, it seems you have a good start to 2010! Feel better soon… XOXO


Leave a Reply

Categories

